• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other subscribers
  • Taylor Tweets

  • Taylor Blue's Flickr Photos

Fish Oil For My American Blue Pit Bull Terrier

By Jason J. Row

Tiburon came to us from Taylor Blues Kennel a little over a week ago and I’m happy to report he is doing well!  The only problem we have had with him was very dry and flaky skin under his coat.  From the research I have done it seems that this is a common problem with his breed.  It’s part of the genetics that contribute to his beautiful, charcoal gray color.  I know from past experience with my other dogs and even myself that Omega-3 fatty acids have helped and even “cured” this problem.

Starting last Sunday, after giving him a bath with aloe vera based dog shampoo, we started treating him with 1 gram (1000 mg) of Nature’s Measure Fish Oil.  Within 2 days, the dry skin flakes were gone and I’m pleased to report that as of a week later it has not returned.  We are giving him 1 g of the fish oil every other day.  From further research I have found that this, just like in humans, promotes overall heart health and good blood circulation.  Supportive, but not conclusive, research shows that consumption of Omega-3 fatty acids may reduce the risk of coronary artery and heart disease.  His coat has also taken on a shiny and overall healthy look.

I recommend that one consult with their vet or breeder prior to adding or removing anything to their pets diet.  In the meantime, here is a great, albeit partial, list of foods to avoid feeding your dog.

2 Responses

  1. I recently looked over the list of food not to feed to your dog, and I must disagree with some of the things that I found there.

    Feeding your dog raw meat is good for them. I have even fed raw chicken. As long as the meat has not sat out, it should not contain salmonella or E Coli. Therefore, it should be fine to feed to your dog. Feeding raw chicken with bones are good for your dog because, they get the marrow in the bone, which makes your dog healthy. However, you CANNOT feed your dog chicken bones if they have been cooked because the bones will splinter in their stomach.

    If you are feeding your dogs to put weight on them for shows then feeding raw meat is a good idea because it will give you the extra bulkiness that you seek. I get my meat from a race track here in Central Florida (it’s a greyhound track for everyone wondering, so the meat is specifically made for the dogs). The track makes two different kinds of meat. One is higher in protein than the other. There are two types because there are two different looks for dogs if you are showing them.

    One meat is made to put weight on your dog to give them the “beefy” look. The other is to give your dog a conditioned look, like greyhounds. Usually if you are a breeder and show your dogs you either have ‘classic’ dogs that are conditioned or you have ‘bullies’ that are shorter, wider, and heavier than the others.

    The other foods that are listed on the list, I’m not sure about some, so the best bet would be to ask a vet.

Leave a comment